National Certified Peer Specialist (NCPS)

National Certified Peer Specialist (NCPS)

The NCBBHP is pleased to offer the National Certified Peer Specialist (NCPS) credential. The NCPS recognizes advanced competency in mental health, peer-to-peer services, which are focused on providing hope and support to those seeking recovery from a mental health condition and/or substance use disorder. NCPS’ have the lived experience as a person in recovery to engage and encourage others to build the skills necessary to achieve and maintain wellness.

NCPS certification is a professional, advanced-level peer support credential for people providing peer specialist services in behavioral, physical, and related healthcare settings. The NCPS credential requires a minimum of a high school diploma or general equivalency degree, as well as prior education, training, and work experiences that reflect the NCPS performance domains and core competencies specified by the Board. The NCPS performance domains are:

  • Foundations of Peer Support
  • Foundations of Health Care Systems
  • Mentoring, Shared Learning, and Relationship Building
  • Activation and Self-Management
  • Advocacy
  • Professional and Ethical Responsibilities

The NCPS is not designed to replace state-level peer support/peer specialist programs. It is designed to recognize peers with advanced, current experience who can meet NCPS certification requirements.

The FCB, through its wholly owned subsidiary, the National Certification Board for Behavioral Health Professionals (NCBBHP), is pleased to offer the National Certified Peer Specialist (NCPS) credential. As such and until further notice, NCPS applications and exams will be processed using the FCB’s credentialing and examination systems, while the NCPS wall certificate will be issued by the NCBBHP.

NCPS Certification Requirements

Please carefully review the NCPS Certification Requirements BEFORE applying for certification.
In general, qualified applicants must:

  1. currently hold a state-level peer support specialist credential that required a minimum of 40 hours of training or have previously completed an equivalent 40-hour training program,
  2. have 3,000 hours of peer support specialist work experience in the six (6) years prior to application for certification, and
  3. obtain three (3) professional letters of recommendation.

Applicants who can provide documentation of these qualifications will be approved to sit for the NCPS exam, and will be awarded the NCPS credential after earning a passing score on the NCPS exam.